• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size
  • PDF

Wednesday, January 13, 2021

What Are the Different Cardiac Subspecialties and What Do They Do?

Posted By: Advancing Care

Adobe Stock photo

“Cardiology focuses on the prevention, diagnosis, treatment and management of disorders of the cardiovascular or circulatory system, which includes the heart, arteries and veins,” says Steven Lansman, MD, Director of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Westchester Medical Center, the flagship of WMCHealth. Here is an overview of cardiology specialists:
General Clinical Cardiologist: focuses on the prevention, diagnosis and medical management of cardiovascular disease. 

Cardiothoracic Surgeon: operates on patients with conditions affecting the heart and lungs.

Echocardiologist: conducts and interprets cardiac ultrasound procedures.

Electrophysiologist: diagnoses, treats and manages cardiac arrhythmias and implants antiarrhythmia devices, like pacemakers and defibrillators.

Nuclear Cardiologist: assesses the heart, as well as the presence of blockages in coronary arteries, using injected radiotracer agents. 

Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiologist: undergoes advanced training and expertise that qualifies them to treat patients with advanced heart failure, up to and including organ transplantation.

Computed Tomography/Magnetic Resonance Imaging Cardiologist: focuses on the noninvasive diagnosis and clinical management of cardiovascular disease, using magnetic resonance (MRI) and computed tomography (CT).

Do you have a question for a WMCHealth physician or specialist?

Email your questions to [email protected], with “Just the Facts” in the subject heading. Your question may be featured in a future issue.