• Printer Friendly Version
  • Decrease Text Size
  • Increase Text Size
  • PDF

Tuesday, June 13, 2017

For Level II Trauma Care, MidHudson Regional Hospital Is No. 1

Posted By: Advancing Care

In Poughkeepsie, MidHudson Regional Hospital, a member of the Westchester Medical Center Health Network (WMCHealth), has been a New York State-designated Level II trauma center for more than 20 years.

Recently, it received a new honor: Its trauma program became the first and only in the Hudson Valley to be designated “Level II” by the American College of Surgeons (ACS). This milestone is key, since New York now utilizes ACS verification as its standard for designating trauma centers. To earn ACS approval, a trauma center must adhere to strict standards, from following best practices to efficiently treating patients. MidHudson Regional Hospital meets these rigorous requirements and more. With its trauma program handling nearly 900 activations in 2016, MidHudson Regional Hospital is one of the busiest, most experienced Level II trauma centers in the state.